Spirits in Prison

“…through whom also he went and preached to the spirits in prison who disobeyed long ago when God waited patiently in the days of Noah while the ark was being built.”

– 1 Peter 3.19-20

Now I know a little about this verse and the reference it is making, but it wouldn’t hurt to know a little more. I do not remember what we read, it was some particular extra-Biblical text, but it made reference to these spirits in prison, to giants that literally roamed the earth and were sent to an underground (interesting) prison after disobeying God’s commands. Mythical or not, its pretty fun to read. I’ll see if I can track down my sources, but in the meantime, feel free to impress us with your vast knowledge of hidden stories and references in early Genesis, especially if you have read it lately (I don’t know, I think some people are into that, reading and all). If this is all completely wrong, sorry, but consider it a pretty sweet story.

st_peter_fresco_661x793.jpg

