This Is Me

The open mind never acts: when we have done our utmost to arrive at a reasonable conclusion, we still – must close our minds for the moment with a snap, and act dogmatically on our conclusions.  -George Bernard Shaw

As the election approaches, more and more people seem to have an opinion as to why they are right and you are wrong. Perhaps the more frustrating thing to me is that while many can talk they refuse listen. As for myself, bombarding me with your political beliefs and deteriorating the candidate I favor is not the correct approach if you are trying to recruit me to your side.

This is who I am: I am a strategist; it’s in my blood and it’s how I process. I am a thinker, not a knee-jerker. I can’t just react (if I did, I would be very tired after this election). If I feel I am under-informed I will make sure I clearly state that so as not to set a false premise. I don’t make rash decisions when it comes to the important things. So, this is me:

  1. My political beliefs are what they are because I read the issues. This is not to say that I 100% favor my candidate, so don’t judge me by his beliefs. There are things I agree with and things I don’t (just more of the first).
  2. Each side has various appealing aspects. I like all of the candidates; they seem like nice people.
  3. A “party” does not define me; my loyalty is to a higher power first.
  4. I will vote based on who I think will do the best job. I respect other people’s opinions and will listen, but in the end it is my choice and you can’t turn in my ballot.
  5. If in 4 years a better candidate arises, don’t think I won’t vote for them.

In all things, I only ask for an open mind, myself included.

