A Rose is…a Rose

What’s in a name? That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet.

This has to be one of the best lines ever written. Throughout the election, I kept thinking about the concept and the truth in this line. It was amazing to see the party lines being blurred this time around, to see people not allowing themselves to be confined to a name; republican, independent, democrat, etc.

However, I did notice that expressing your views could lead to some potentially heated conversations (which is why I did so carefully). As if saying voting for a certain candidate automatically stated, loud and clear, that you agreed with everything that person said and believed in. All over facebook and in several articles, I saw evidence of Christians condemning other Christians for stating to vote for Obama.

I don’t want to make any political statements, but this is what I am thinking.

A Christian is a Christian and by any other name would be a Christian. It should not be treated as a title to be given. We are talking about people.

One of my favorite movies of all time (V for Vendetta) says this:

There is a face beneath this mask but it’s not me. I’m no more that face than I am the muscles beneath it or the bones beneath them.

I don’t believe anyone has the right to judge anothers faith since that appears seemingly unfair (unless you have acquired the power to look into people’s hearts or you are God of course).

You can call people what you want, but they will still smell the same.

