Star Trek: The Movie

This weekend, I went to the Cinerama down at the Arclight theater in Hollywood to see the opening of Star Trek the movie. I have never seen an actual episode of Star Trek, nor did I I know any of the characters before the movie outside of those famous few like Scotty, Spock, and Captain Kirk. I have never even seen any of the 10 or so other Star Trek movies either, and for those reasons, I think I was the target audience.

J.J. Abrahms did an amazing job with this movie. All the stigmas that have been attached with enjoying Star Trek are erased with this action-packed, entertaining, comediac, and dare I say “cool” new version of Star Trek. It’s sort of like the way Batman was reinvented with Christian Bale in Batman Begins. I don’t think I was ever bored, Chris Pine, Eric Bana, and Zach Quinto were outstanding, and when it was done I added all the Star Trek movies to my Netflix list.

Congratulations J.J., you have succeeded in sucking in a new generation of Star Trek lovers. Please don’t let the next movie suck.

