Wireless Phone Charging

Media_httpwwwpowermatcomskinfrontendpowermat13defaultimagesproductsproductshomematpng_bigflehiiwvuaug

This month I was especially attracted to this add in Wired Magazine. I had heard about this technology when the Palm Pre came out, but this was the first I had seen that allowed for iPhones and other techy devices to be charged wirelessly. It looks clean and sleek, and is definitely attractive theoretically. However, who buys the first edition of something? It’s dangerous. You know something better will come out now that the tech is public. So, here are my concerns (don’t mistake my concerns for a lack of desire to get this thing):

1) You have to buy a special case for the iPhone with a special transfer unit on the back to make the charge possible. How resistant to damage do you think this case is?

2) I’m excited that the price is comfortable. However, I have a perceived value that is higher than the price offered, therefore leaving me to the only logical conclusion, it’s made cheaply. (This is a good tip for you marketing minded folks. Perceived value is just as important actual value. Just because you can charge low prices, doesn’t mean you should)

3) You can’t only buy one. I mean you could, but then you would have to balance out the “I want to show it off at work” and “I want to use it at home” angles.

That’s it for now. Overall, awesome technology. My advice, wait for round 2, or 3.

