I’m Into Audio

Lately I’ve noticed a trend…my free time is diminishing. When I say free time, what I mean is my blog scanning, rss sorting, book reading free time. Thankfully we have the internet and I have found various ways to make things simpler and easier, while getting everything done and then some. What I have now come to appreciate is audio. NOT to be confused with music. Here’s how it breaks down:

1) I have a 30 minute commute which is about an hour a day in the car by myself (Not bad, especially for Southern California)

2) I am capable of multi-tasking (Amazing, I know)

3) Because I can multi-task, I often do, and as a result it’s pretty hard to sit down and solely dedicate myself to just reading or something.

What this all means: I’m into audio. After a couple of recommendations, I’ve started listening to a couple podcasts that I think are great; entertaining for anyone interested in technology and application. My favorite at the moment is TWIT, otherwise known as This Week in Tech. The host of the show, Leo Laporte, is intriguing, has a great personality, and assembles an amazing collection of people together to talk about the technological developments over the past week. From Facebook and Farmville to the latest and greatest cell phone, they cover it all.

Media_httpdsposterous_aviee

Another thing that has totally caught my attention is Audible.com. I recently did a book review on Chris Brogan and Julien Smith’s Trust Agents, which I downloaded from Audible. It was amazing. Not only the book, but also the format. Being able to do my normal work while listening to a book in the background is incredibly fulfilling. Audible runs plans similar to the gym; monthly payments a lot you certain credits towards book downloads in .mp3 format. For less than $25 a month, you could potentially be reading 2 new books. The books aren’t your average books either. The company now has 60,000+ titles including new releases, classics, subscriptions, and more. It may be just me, but I think reading an extra 24 books a year could be fairly beneficial to your brain. What I’ve done is downloaded the books, loaded them onto my iPhone, and listened to them in my car while I’m driving. A typical book at 7-8 hours would be finished in one week for me. I’m not sure the last time I could say I finished a book that size in one week while still living my normal life. One of the best things for me is that it means more time with my family at home.

Media_httpdsposterous_eibtw

My Advice: Get yourself audio’d. Podcasts I listen to or am looking at:

TWIT

The Tech Guy

Buzz Out Loud

Mac Geek Lab

Mac Break Weekly

