Dropbox FTW

Media_httpdsposterous_hfhzw

I had heard things about this service, Dropbox. In a nutshell, Dropbox gives you that ability to store your files in one place, online, and access them from any computer (or your iPhone or iPod touch). It kind of gets around the whole “email it to yourself” back door, especially if the file you want to email is bigger than 25 mB (Gmail’s limit) or even 100 MB (Yousendit’s free limit). With the free account, you get 2 GB of online storage space which you can share across your own computers, and also create access for specific people to share as well.

The way I used it yesterday was to store my 102 MB music file and share it with one of my friends. He downloaded it without a problem, added his musical touches, then uploaded a new one that I just downloaded. They tell me the servers are encrypted and transmission of file data happens over an SSL encrypted channel.

There are some cool features which I haven’t gotten to fully explore yet. One includes the ability to download a dropbox “folder” to your computer which acts as an uploading mechanism. So, for example, you’d safe your document into the dropbox folder and it would then be accessible on all your devices and through any other internet enabled device. So, for what it’s worth, this could be something cool you keep in your back pocket.

