The Importance of the Comparison Chart

Hey, remember when I wrote this post a couple months ago? If you don’t (I have no idea why you wouldn’t), I basically said I love the commercials for the Amazon Kindle. I think they are well made, catchy, and give the Kindle the overall youthful look they need. Before I go on, I have to say that I like the Kindle as a reader. The contrast is amazing making the readability amazing. You get the point.

In the recent news, you may have heard that the Kindle was “sold out.” Also in recent news you may have noticed that the Kindle is now available for a much lower price…$139. I think that’s great. However, this is where I clash a little with the presentation of the details. Amazon posted a comparison chart of the three models they now offer, ranging from $139 to $379. Take a look at this chart:

Picture_1

Ideally, this chart should give you a reason to pick one model over the other, and the comparisons should show the products to be uniquely different. Take the iPad for example. The different prices result from a difference in storage space and 3G capability which makes sense. Here is the comparison chart for the iPad:

Picture_5

What I can’t figure out is the differences for the Kindle models. The most expensive one has a bigger screen size, but no wifi which the first and second models have. The 3G is paranthetically categorized as (experimental). All the models hold the same number of books. The cheapest one has the longest battery life. The most expensive one weighs double the other two.

Now I’m sure there really are distinguishing features that can explain the price structure, but I’m not sure this chart does them justice. Is it just me?

Again, I like the Kindle, I like their commercials a lot, they just need better charts.

