Homework or Dessert

Dessert

I don’t usually just write like this, but I felt the need to express my thoughts in words in hopes that it would make just as much sense on paper as it does in my mind.

The idea of doing what you love has been weighing heavily on my heart. I caught myself saying to a co-worker the other day, “I don’t like working with people who aren’t passionate.” Conversely, I LOVE working with people who are passionate. For one, they do great work, and two, you instinctively trust them. So all this begs the question, does what I do make me happy? Am I passionate? This isn’t to say that the world revolves around our own happiness. I think it speaks more to the fact that when you are happy about what you do, you do it well, really well.

Think of a high schooler doing homework. Have you ever seen one passionate about homework? Probably only a few. It seems that sometimes we treat what we do like homework. Simply something that needs to get done in order to receive credit (a paycheck, vacation, sick time, etc.). What if instead we viewed it as dessert? Too much of it might not be healthy, but we always look forward to it and enjoy it while it lasts. If it’s not dessert time yet, maybe it’s time to start asking the right questions to move you in that direction. 

Anyway, those are the ramblings of a rambling mind. Take it for what it’s worth and thanks for reading.

2 thoughts on “Homework or Dessert

  1. Great post and a good reminder. Passion for what we do is so important. Since we spend so much time doing it, shouldn’t we like it? Care about it? Not to mention being thankful that we have an opportunity to work and make a difference by doing something, whatever that something may be.

Comments are closed.